“Black” to Basics

If you’ve been following me for a while, or even for five minutes you know my favorite thing to wear is anything BLACK. You also know that I’m a sucker for black bodycon dresses…there’s really no such thing as too many. AND they’re so easy to dress up or down.

Today’s look is a little dressed up, but simple. I don’t wear a lot accessories, it’s just not my style, but I wanted to give this dark look a little shine so I put on a simple ring and fun necklace. Outside of that, the only other color in this look is another neutral- brown. This is my favorite way to wear an LBD: heels and a bag.

The dress I’m wearing is from Pretty Little Thing and it’s an off the shoulder ribbed knit dress. I LOVE ribbed dresses, they just hug differently than a regular dress. It gets all up and into these curves. I’m wearing a size 18 in this dress, but I probably could have sized down because ribbed fabric has a little more stretch than jersey and it’s also more prone to hug less as the day goes on. I’m happy with the 18, I’m just being annoying haha. I just like my dresses to be like a second sometimes haha. The fabric is actually pretty thick so there’s literally ZERO chance of being see through.

Also YES! I am wearing shapewear. I don’t wear a bodycon without it. My drug of choice are the High Power Short from SPANX. I’ve been wearing this specific style for over 6 years and I’ll be wearing it for the next 60. Yes I’ve tried others, but for the price ($38), the fit, and quality these rank #1 for me. They’re tall girl friendly too! I’m 5’10” and they go from under my bra ALLLLL the way to just above my knee without rolling up/down. I wear a 2x.

Dress(18) | Bag (Similar) | Shoes | Ring | Necklace (Similar) | SPANX(2x) | Hair Extentions

Leave a comment